Raising Our Voice (2018)

Raising Our Voice

Mack Avenue Records MAC-1137
Release date: Sept 14, 2018

Produced by: Yellowjackets
Engineer/Mastering: Rich Breen
Assistant Engineer: Alejandro Baima


Russell Ferrante: piano, synths
Will Kennedy: drums, synths
Dane Alderson: electric bass
Bob Mintzer: saxophones, bass clarinet, EWI, flute

Featuring Luciana Souza on vocals


  1. Man Facing North 
  2. Mutuality 
  3. Everyone Else is Taken 
  4. Ecuador 
  5. Strange Time 
  6. Emerge 
  7. Timeline 
  8. Quiet 
  9. Divert 
  10. Brotherly 
  11. Swing With It 
  12. In Search Of 
  13. Solitude 

While the Los Angeles-based Yellowjackets have been a creative force on the jazz scene since 1981 when they recorded their eponymous debut, their fourth Mack Avenue Records album, Raising Our Voice, once again ups the ante with bold new strides by inviting vocalist extraordinaire Luciana Souza to collaborate with the group for seven of its thirteen tunes as well as subtly taking a resistant stand against the status quo of the cultural and political undercurrent of our times.

The Yellowjackets have consistently forged ahead in their evolving artistic statements. The band has recorded close to 30 albums, been nominated for 17 GRAMMY® Awards, and has adventurously amplified the eclectic, electro-acoustic soundscape, creating a unique jazz sound since its fusion beginnings.

The Official Website